This article will guide you through the process of self-enrolment for an 'other skills and training' (OST) application.
How to: Complete an OST Self-Enrolment
As an applicant for an OST course, your training provider may choose to invite you to complete your self-enrolment. This requires you to create an account with Bud and provide some personal information that will help your training provider to determine your eligibility for the course.
Some training providers may choose not to invite you to self-enrol, in which case they will complete the application on your behalf.
The process is as follows:
1. You will receive an email from Bud, explaining that you have been invited to register on the system and complete your application. If you have not received the email, please check your ‘junk’ folder. The email will look like the example below:
If you are using Bud for the first time, you will be directed to register an account with Bud. This will involve creating a password for your account:
2. Once you have registered your account, you will need to log in to Bud and access your dashboard.
If you already have a Bud account from a previous application or role, instead of creating a password you will be directed to the login page after clicking the invite button in the invitation email.
3. Once logged in, you will be on your dashboard and you will be able to see the application that you have been invited to complete under the heading ‘My applications’.
The application tile will include the funding model you have been selected for, for example, AEB as displayed above.
If your training provider has already selected your programme for you, the name of the programme will also be shown. If not, then the text ‘There is no programme assigned to your application’ will be shown. Don’t worry if that is the case, you can continue with your application.
4. Click ‘continue to application’ to start your application. As you enter your application, it will look similar to the example below:
You can find information about the application process, including a link to the government’s privacy notice which explains why your training provider is asking for your personal details and what they will be used for in the blue box above the applicant info. You can minimise this box by clicking the arrow in the top right corner.
You will be asked to complete the application with information relating to your basic personal details. There are six pages for you to complete:
- Personal information
- Residency information
- Support & access
You will see that the pages have progress indicators next to them. Before you start adding information, these indicators will be a grey circle with a question mark. Once you have completed all of the required information within a section a solid green indicator displayed next to it:
Adding and saving information
You can complete your application all in one go, however, you can return to it at a later date if required by clicking ‘save’ on the page you are on to save all changes to your application. You can save and return to the application as many times as you need to before submitting it.
If you try to leave the page without saving it, a warning message will be displayed.
Submitting your application
Until all of the mandatory pages in the application have been completed, the ‘Submit Application’ button will remain disabled, like below:
Once you have completed all of the mandatory pages in the application, the ‘Submit Application’ button will be enabled for you to select, like below:
Check your application before submitting it as you will not be able to edit it once you have clicked ‘Submit Application’. You will be able to review your information in read-only mode, but you will need to contact your training provider directly to make any changes.
Once you have submitted your application, this will then be with your training provider and they will get in touch with you to discuss completing the application. Your dashboard will also update to reflect that your application has been submitted: