Living Training Plan

Living Training Plan

You can generate an updated Training Plan document with the latest activity information from the learner's portfolio. Generating a new document in this way will provide an updated list of activities from portfolio, including:

  • New activities added manually directly in the portfolio
  • New activities added via the editing of live programmes
  • Activities exempted in portfolio

There are two ways to generate a new Training Plan document:

  1. The full application edit workflow
  2. Generate a new Training Plan independently

Generating via the full application edit workflow

Users can edit a learner's application by using this method:

Once the application is in edit mode, users will progress through the workflow as normal. The latest activity information will be displayed in two places:

  1. The 'Review programme activities' page
  2. Appendix A of the Training Plan document

You will not be able to edit any of the activity information via the application edit workflow, this will still need to be done via the portfolio or edit live programmes functionality, but you will be able to edit any other information displayed on the Training Plan document, such as the learner's details, employer details, and programmes dates.

Generating a new Training Plan independently

Users will be able to generate a new Training Plan document independently of the full application edit flow. This can be done by viewing the latest fully signed version of the Training Plan document and clicking the 'Generate New Training Plan’ button in the top-right corner.

A confirmation modal will state that only a refresh of the latest activity information from portfolio displayed in Appendix A of the Training Plan will be updated. If you would like to edit any of the information within the document, please use the full application edit workflow instead.


Once confirmed, the new Training Plan document will be available for all three parties to sign, using the normal signature process.


The application status will not be updated if a new Training Plan is generated independently. The application status will remain as it was prior to re-generation of the document.

Business Rules

When a new Training Plan is generated, the previous fully signed version will move into the ‘previous versions’ section, like it does when new versions of documents are generated via the application edit workflow.


If a new Training Plan has been generated but has not been fully signed yet, it will appear in the ‘Current agreements’ table as ‘Unsigned’. Once the third and final signature has been added to the document, a snapshot will be created and the ‘date signed’ column will be updated with the date.


If a new Training Plan document has been generated independently and isn’t fully signed, when the application enters edit mode then it will reset the collected signatures on that document. The edit mode document supersedes the independent documents.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request